Digital Video Broadcasting Second Generation Terrestrial

The latest extension of the DVB-T television standard, as standardized by ETSI.

DVB-T2 is an abbreviation for "Digital Video Broadcasting — Second Generation Terrestrial"; it is the extension of the television standard DVB-T, issued by the consortium DVB, devised for the broadcast transmission of digital terrestrial television. DVB has been standardized by ETSI.

This system transmits compressed digital audio, video, and other data in "physical layer pipes" (PLPs), using OFDM modulation with concatenated channel coding and interleaving. The higher offered bit rate, with respect to its predecessor DVB-T, makes it a system suited for carrying HDTV signals on the terrestrial TV channel (though many broadcasters still use plain DVB-T for this purpose).

As of 2019, it was implemented in broadcasts in the United Kingdom (Freeview HD, eight channels across two multiplexes, plus an extra multiplex in Northern Ireland carrying three SD channels), Italy (Europa 7 HD, twelve channels), Finland (21 channels, five in HD), Germany (six HD (1080p50) channels, with 40 in planning), the Netherlands (Digitenne, 30 HD (1080p50) channels), Sweden (five channels), Thailand (41 SD, 9 HD channels) Flanders (18 SD Channels), Serbia (eight channels), Ukraine (32 SD and HD channels in four nationwide multiplexes), Croatia (two pay-TV multiplexes, one experimental multiplex to be used for regular TV broadcasting in HEVC and 1080p50 once legacy DVB-T transmissions cease), Denmark (two pay-TV multiplexes with 20 channels), Romania (8 SD channels, 1 HD channel) and some other countries.

Digital Video Broadcasting Second Generation Terrestrial
  • DVB-T2
Adapted from content published on
  • Image By peter knorr - Own work, Public Domain — from
Last modified on November 2, 2020, 5:37 pm is a service provided by Codecide, a company located in Chicago, IL USA.