European Film Academy

An initiative of a group of European filmmakers.

The European Film Academy (EFA) is an initiative of a group of European filmmakers who came together in Berlin on the occasion of the first presentation of the European Film Awards in November 1988.

The Academy—under the name of European Cinema Society—was officially founded by its first President, the Swedish director Ingmar Bergman, as well as 40 filmmakers from all over Europe.

The European Film Awards takes place every second year in Berlin, while they are presented every other year in another European city.

Adapted from content published on
Last modified on September 12, 2020, 10:18 am is a service provided by Codecide, a company located in Chicago, IL USA.